Kochubeivka community held a meeting of a working group on public safety

The meeting of the working group on public safety and recovery was held in Kochubeivka with the participation of representatives of the authorities, the police, the State Emergency Service, educational institutions, elders, and active community residents. 

During the meeting, the community officer reported on the security situation, the community voiced its problems, and desired initiatives were discussed. 

Among the initiatives discussed were installing video surveillance cameras, establishing safety classes in schools, shelter and police facility enhancements, psychologist-led support for veterans and community members.

The working group participants made a significant decision to prepare safety classes within the schools of Kochubeyivka and Orlove villages. The objective is to systematically educate children and youth on civil defense, personal safety, healthy lifestyles, and fire and mine safety regulations.

The working groups on public safety and recovery were held in the Bilozerka, Chornobaivka, and Stanislav communities. Overall, 6 public safety working groups are functioning in the Kherson region

Working groups are functioning within the framework of the initiative "Kherson region: public security and recovery in conditions of change" implemented by the "Union" Foundation with the assistance of the United Nations Development Program (UNDP) in Ukraine with the financial support of the Government of Denmark, provided within the framework of the UN Program for Reconstruction and Peacebuilding.

The UN Program for Reconstruction and Peacebuilding is implemented by four UN agencies: the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women), the United Nations Reproductive Health Agency (UNFPA) and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). 

Eleven international partners support the program: the European Union (EU), the European Investment Bank (EIB), the US Embassy in Ukraine, and the governments of Denmark, Canada, the Netherlands, Germany, Poland, Switzerland, Sweden, and Japan.